Beaconsfield Mine and Heritage Centre

Beaconsfield Mine & Heritage Centre is nestled in the picturesque Tamar Valley north of Launceston. The beautiful brick mine buildings and ruins that embody the history of the site date back to the first years of the 20th Century and form a striking foreground to views of the iconic headframe and Heritage Centre.

Over 40,000 visitors a year explore the remarkable mine ruins and museum. It’s the best way to truly experience the history of the site and discover the stories of the people who lived and worked in Beaconsfield and the surrounding Tamar Valley. Their stories are told through evocative exhibitions and thousands of artefacts, lovingly curated, catalogued and housed on the 2 hectare site.Until the 1990s, Tasmania was still known as the Apple Isle. The Tamar Valley was a thriving hub for apples that were renowned throughout the world.

The Heritage Centre has an entire exhibit dedicated to the life and times of those who lived and worked in the Tamar Valley. In the 1930s, at the height of the depression, such extravagant luxuries as cream, custard and sugar would have been at a premium, and a simple apple puff would have been considered a real treat.

BEACONSFIELD MINE & HERITAGE CENTRE
West Street, Beaconsfield TAS 7270
p: 03 6383 1473
e: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
www.beaconsfieldheritage.com.au